Michigan Identity Documents

Michigan Name Change Laws

To obtain a legal name change in Michigan, an applicant must submit a petition to the court. The applicant must publish notice of the petition, but the court may waive the publication requirement for a good cause and seal the court proceedings. Applicants over the age of 22 must provide two sets of fingerprints. Applicants with a criminal record have the burden of proof to rebut a presumption of fraudulent intent. (Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §§ 711.1-711.3.

For instructions on legal name changes for minors under 18 in Michigan, see NCTE's Name Changes for Minors in Michigan resource.

Michigan Drivers License Policy & Procedures

In order to update name and/or gender on a Michigan ID, the applicant should submit:

  • The current ID.
  • To update the gender marker, a signed Sex Designation Form (indicating designation Male or Female).
  • To update the name, proof of name change, after first updating their name with the Social Security Administration.

The Michigan Secretary of State addresses name changes here.

Michigan Birth Certificate Laws

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services will issue a new birth certificate with corrected name and/or gender upon receipt of an Application to Correct or Change a Michigan Birth Record, a copy of a court ordered change of name, and/or a Sex Designation Form. The applicant will also need to submit a copy of a photo ID.  The fee for correcting or changing a birth record is $50, which includes one copy of the corrected birth certificate. Additional copies are $16 each.  

Mail your application to:

Vital Records Change
P.O. Box 30721
Lansing MI 48909 

Footer lines pattern Footer lines pattern

Stay Informed

Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest news and opportunities for action delivered straight to your inbox.