New Jersey will issue updated birth certificates reflecting a gender of female, male, or undesignated/non-binary, upon receipt of a form signed by the applicant. No medical documentation isrequired. See the 2018 Babs Siperstein Law.
To apply for an amended birth certificate the requestor should submit:
- If registrant is an adult, Request Form and Attestation, completed and signed by the registrant.
- If registrant is a minor under 18, Parent/Guardian Request Form and Attestation, signed by the parent or guardian.
- If changing the name, a certified copy of the legal name change court order.
- A copy of the original birth certificate.
- A copy of the identification card of the requestor (adult registrant, parent, or guardian).
- A check/money order for the applicable fees payable to Treasurer, State of New Jersey ($6 for the first requested certified copy of amended birth certificate, $2 for each additional copy)
Send the application by mail to:
Office of Vital Statistics & Registry
Records Modification Unit
PO Box 370
Trenton, NJ 08625-0370
The amended birth certificate will not be marked as amended and the original will be placed under seal.
Additional information is available on the FAQ from the Department of Health, and you can direct questions to Records@doh.nj.gov, 609-292-4087, or 866-649-8726.
Court Order for Gender Change
If you are a New Jersey resident but you were born in another state that requires a court order to update a birth certificate, beginning February 1, 2019 the courts in New Jersey have the authority to issue a court order to reflect a change in gender. You will need to submit to the court a statement affirming under penalty of perjury that the request for a declaration of (female, male, or undesignated/non-binary) gender is to conform with your gender identity and not for any fraudulent prupose. See the 2018 Babs Siperstein Law.